Effective July 29, 2016, New Illinois Cannabis Possession Law
Effective July 29, 2016, Illinois has amended its Cannabis Law, reducing the simple possession of small amounts of cannabis one classification. 720 ILCS 550/4 now classifies possession of cannabis up to 10 grams as a civil law violation punishable by a minimum fine of $100.00 and maximum fine of $200.00. The following chart illustrates the previous and current charges for possession of cannabis:
|Previous law||After July 29, 2016|
|0g – 2.5g Class C||0g – 10g civil law violation FINE ONLY|
|2.5g – 10g Class B||10g – 30g Class B|
|10g – 30g Class A||30g – 100g Class A first violation Class 4 subsequent violations|
|30g – 500g Class 4||100g – 500g Class 4 first violation, Class 3 subsequent violations|
|500g – 2,000g Class 3||500g – 2,000g Class 3|
|2,000g – 5,000g Class 2||2,000 – 5,000g Class 2|
|More than 5,000g Class 1||More than 5,000g Class 1|
The text of Public Act as it amends 720 ILCS 55/4 can be seen by following this link.
This new area of the law is complex, and the assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney is necessary to ensure the police follow the law and respect the rights and privileges the legislature has given to those who use or dispense medical cannabis. If you have been charged with possession of cannabis, contact criminal defense attorney JohnPaul Ivec at Ivec Law, P.C. today at (815) 439-9909 for a free consultation; or e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org.